Professors John Pyle and Ed Hawkins, scientists at the National Centre for Atmospheric Science, have been awarded medals by the Royal Society in recognition of their contributions to science. 

Professor John Pyle, NCAS Chief Scientist, has been awarded the Royal Society’s Davy Medal for his influential work in understanding the global ozone layer. The Davy Medal is awarded annually to an outstanding researcher in the field of chemistry. 

Professor Ed Hawkins has been awarded the Kavli Medal and Lecture for his contributions to understanding and quantifying natural climate variability and long-term climate change, and for his active communication of climate science. The Kavli Medal is awarded each year for excellence in all fields of science and engineering relevant to the environment or energy. As part of the award, recipients are invited to deliver a lecture at the Royal Society in London.

Throughout his career, Professor John Pyle has shown pioneering leadership in understanding the depletion of the global ozone layer by halocarbons, particularly coupling between chemistry, radiation and dynamics, and the special vulnerability of Arctic zone. Professor Pyle is based at the University of Cambridge, where he uses state-of-the-art numerical models to study the present state of the atmosphere.

ed hawkins 300px

Professor Ed Hawkins is a Principle Research Scientist for NCAS, based at the University of Reading. His research covers long-term climate variability, including predictability of Arctic sea-ice and statistical decadal predictions. Recently, Ed coordinated a large citizen science project to rescue lost weather data collected from the peak of Ben Nevis over 100 years ago, called Operation Weather Rescue. He has also produced climate change visualisations that have reached audiences across the world, even being displayed at the Rio Olympics opening ceremony. You can see more of Ed's work on his Twitter feed.

Brian Foster, Vice President of the Royal Society said "the Royal Society has a long-standing tradition of identifying and celebrating the best and brighest scientists. The winners of this year's medals and awards have all made outstanding contributions in their field."

The Davy Medal is named after Humphry Davy FRS, the chemist and inventor of the Davy Lamp, and was first awarded in 1877. Last year's winner was Professor Matthew Rosseinsky FRS, who was awarded the Davy Medal in 2017 for his advances in the design and discovery of functional materials, integrating the development of new experimental and computational techniques.

The Kavli Medal was first awarded in 2011, and was last awarded to Professor Henry Snaith for his discovery and development of highly efficient perovskite solar cells, which promise to dramatically increase the efficiency of solar energy.

The Royal Society is a self-governing Fellowship of many of the world's most distinguished scientists drawn from all areas of science, engineering, and medicine. The Society's fundamental purpose, reflected in its founding Charters of the 1660s, is to recognise, promote, and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity.